top of page

A heavy heart holds a hearty history


Dear Journal,

I can’t believe I still miss Greg. It’s been 5 years!

I was 10 when he left. Every Valentine’s Day, the memories I’ve tried so hard to forget the other 364 days outta the year flood back in my mind. I still have the Valentine’s card he gave me; a heart cutout of red paper that read: “Roses are red, violets are blue, this heart is pretty just like you.” I gave him an innocent, longwinded note that coulda been simplified with “I like you” ... which I don’t even think I got to the point of saying.

He was someone special. My parents loved him, my sister saw him as a little brother ... although I’ll admit, I thought she was tryna steal my man at first! It’s funny looking back on it now. We got a lot of history. After all, we have known each other from fresh out the womb! Our parents were best friends so we were destined to be joined at the hip. In Kindergarten, we met Marie and people called us the “Boy Meets World” of Jupitervale. They said Greg and me would get married like Cory and Topanga ... but I guess we’ll never know, now will we?

You know, I’m not even sad that he left. I just wish he said goodbye.

Graciela

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page