top of page

In life, we ALL have a soundtrack


Hello again!

As previously promised, here is an excerpt of my novel, "Melodies Within Me".

This is an introduction into the life of Yazmíne Olive Daniels, a college student who is struggling with school due to repressed emotions. After being recommended to an academic counselor who introduces her to expressive therapy, she realizes that you can't move forward until you face your past.

Enjoy!

Stashia💜

INTRODUCTION

They say that with great power comes great responsibility. Well ... I'm not all too sure about the power I have. When it comes to greatness, I'll leave that for God to determine and tell me what I'm destined for when He sees fit. But what I do know is that I have a responsibility as a young woman of this generation ... to tell a story that may not otherwise be told. I have a responsibility to use my life ... my experiences, good and bad ... as a vessel for myself and others to learn from. Everybody has a story that needs to be told ... not only to bring them closure and give them an outlet to help themselves and others ... but to tell it in a manner that only they can. You have your own way of speech, your own way of thinking, your own way of living, and everyone should have the opportunity to allow the world to view life through their eyes.

When I was in elementary school, I wanted to become a teacher. I loved kids (well, those that were younger than me anyway) and I loved to learn and help people. But when I was about seven or eight, I remember being really into television shows like "Kids Incorporated" and "The New Mickey Mouse Club" and pretending I was one of the performers. Granted, I was diggin' the glitz and glamour of it all, but there was somethin' more, somethin' that I just couldn't shake outta my system: the music.

It's somethin' that was embedded in my blood since the day I was born, and I believe it follows me throughout all the days of my life. As far as I'm concerned, everybody's life has a soundtrack, a collection of songs that when played will tell the story of their whole life.

My soundtrack begins in 1986. Janet went from being Nasty to being in Control. Bangles were teaching people how to Walk Like an Egyptian, Dionne and Friends sang That's What Friends Are For, Lisa Lisa was All Cried Out, Robert Palmer was Addicted To Love, Prince was singing 'bout your Kiss, and Whitney had The Greatest Love Of All. And I, Yazmíne Olive Daniels was enterin' the world by way of William and Millie Daniels.

These twenty-some-odd years have been an interestin' ride to say the least. I've come to find that life is a trip literally! You don't know where you're going, how you're getting there, what you're ridin' in, or who's ridin' wit chu ... but as long as you remember that God's behind the wheel, you gon' be alright. Throughout this crazy ride, I've got to admit that He's blessed me a- plenty, and granted, I have no idea what He's doing half the time, but I know He's got me. He's got all of us ... and one of the many things He's blessed us with is a soundtrack to accompany us on the trip from birth to death. This is my soundtrack so far; the melodies within me.

- To press play, turn the page. -

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page